Resolutions Part II

1910062_10205827187781683_8522088658285216609_n

I believe making resolutions at the beginning of the year is important. I know a lot of people don’t because they believe they never work but what is so wrong with wanting to set goals for yourself? Because essentially, that’s what resolutions are. I try to keep my list of resolutions short, as to not overwhelm myself and set myself up for failure before I even start.

So without further ramblings, here are my resolutions for 2016:

  1. Forgive Yourself More: I’m not going to lie, there were some major mistakes I made in 2015 that I would not like to repeat again. There were a lot of mistakes that I made with other people, people that I forgave for hurting me, for making me feel like I wasn’t in control of my life. But I couldn’t forgive myself. Even if it was a tiny mistake or it wasn’t really my fault, I would put the blame on myself and hold it there. This year, I want to improve on letting go and focusing instead of what step I’m going to take next.
  2. Learn How To Lift: I don’t know ANYTHING about machines at the gym. I only stepped foot onto my campus gym last Spring and was so embarrassed when the girl next to me had to show me how to turn the elliptical on. Basically, for exercise, I run. It’s all I know how to do. I don’t know any upper body workouts and would really like to learn how to lift weights. I don’t even know how to put weights on the silver pole thing. (I don’t even know the right name for the silver pole thing.) I’ve been wanting to learn how to lift for a while and this year I’m going to make it a priority.
  3. Start-And Maintain-A YouTube Channel: I really love makeup. And I really love makeup tutorials. But I think there’s a lot in the tutorials that just don’t apply to real life situations. I don’t need to know how to do my makeup to look like Ariana Grande in her last music video using a $50 eye shadow pallet, I need a makeup look to get the cute guy on the basketball team to notice me using makeup from Rite-Aid. I would like to fill this gap so you can get look without breaking the bank.
  4. Do Things You Love More Consistently: This one is vague and I did that on purpose. Because what I love to do now (read, watch Netflix, color, write) might not be what I love to do six months from now. I might get tired of reading Refinery29 so I’ll stop putting time aside for me to read it and instead paint my nails. I love to write but I haven’t figured out this whole blogging thing yet. I know I should be posting consistently but if I’m not putting out content I like and I wouldn’t want to read, why post it at all? Same goes with this YouTube Channel. If it doesn’t make me happy, I don’t want to focus myself to do it instead of spending my time doing something that makes me happy.
  5. Let Go Of Temporary People: Sigh. There are a lot of people in my life, that I feel like our relationship isn’t real. That it is simply there for convenience and only kept up because either we are afraid of being bored or the relationship has been around for a long time. This year, I want to stop spending my time with people who don’t really value me and put that effort towards people who do. This is my scariest resolution because I’m going to lose a lot of people and be alone more frequently then I’m used to, but I know it’s for the better in the long run.
  6. Live A Healthy Lifestyle: I have a very shaky history with eating and exercise. When I met with a nutritionist in late 2015, the term healthy lifestyle came up. She described it as what one should be trying to obtain rather than keeping up with a diet or an exercise schedule and it really stuck with me. I’ve always been the person who either has to give my all to something or nothing at all. So if I missed a day at the gym, I would get angry with myself (Hence the Forgive Yourself More resolution) or I would put off eating for as long as I could. Both of these habits are unhealthy. She suggested I try to life a healthy lifestyle so I could enjoy cheese fries whenever I wanted without feeling guilty but also have salmon with a salad. It also means exercising when I wanted and able to. It’s about knowing when to push yourself and when you’re stepping into over exerting  territory and avoiding that place. It’s about learning that it’s okay to skip the gym when you have an assignment due the next day or you want to stay in and binge watch Family Guy.
  7. Learn To Play The Guitar: One of my small resolutions last year was to perform something at the local coffee shop which never happened. When last semester began, I regularly started going to their Open Mic Nights. I was so amazed at the talent that is in my small college town but I wanted to learn how they do it. So here I am with a guitar, struggling to play a song because I can’t move my fingers fast enough.
One thought on “Resolutions Part II

Leave a Reply

