New Year’s Resolutions

img_5648
I’m so excited to share my resolutions for 2017!
Usually, I do an update in June (after six months) and again in December to see what I’ve accomplished and what I didn’t.
I encourage you to make resolutions, and if you have, let me know what they are!
Here are my resolutions for 2017:

1. Drink More Water

200w
I’m pretty good about drinking water when I’m at home. I have a water bottle that I love because I can also put fruit it in! I struggle more when I’m out to eat. I’m more liking to choose soda if I’m picking up fast food. Or if I’m at a restaurant, I’ll get a soda and water. I would like to drink more water in general, but I would like to choose water more when I’m out and about.

2. Be Nicer To My Mom

200
No, I’m not mean or outright cruel to my mother. But, I do joke around with her a lot. I would like to scale back on that and just be nice to her. She’s gone above and beyond for me over the years and this is a small step to repaying her for that.

3. Let People In/Reestablish Relationships

200
I recently wrote a whole article on how 2016 taught me to be independent to a fault. This year, I would like to work on not being so afraid of people and start to trust others again.

4. Get A Job In My Dream Field

200-1
I’ve been unemployed for a while now and I’ll be getting a job locally at a supermarket probably. But I haven’t given up hope for a job in my field just yet. Notice that I said dream field and not dream job.

5. Meatless Mondays

200-2
I had an episode over the summer where I refused to eat any meat from an animal. Since then, I have gotten over it for the most part, but I still don’t eat meat on Mondays. Of course, there have been slip-ups every now and then. But I would like to continue to do it and more regularly. (If you have any meatless food recipes, leave them below!)

6. Regular Skincare Routine

200-3
I have a skincare routine, I just don’t do it all the time. I’ve been really into the 10 step Korean skincare routine and would love to establish one and stick to it! I always feel much better after I do my skincare. It’s just getting my ass to the bathroom to start it is the problem.

7. Don’t Panic About The Order Of Things

200-4
A lot of what held me back in 2016 was the fact that I believed I had to accomplish things in a certain order. I couldn’t go on dates until I had my license. I couldn’t get my license until I had a job. Not only was this unfair to myself, but it put an enormous amount of pressure on myself as well. (I even failed my road test!) So this year, I just want to go after the opportunities that pop up, regardless of what I have accomplished beforehand and what I have yet to accomplish.

8. Be More Like My Female Icons

200-5
There are a lot of women that I admire and rave about online or in person. I want to me more like them in the way that they take action, make their voices heard, and don’t put up with shit. I think the recent passing of Carrie Fisher really put this resolution in gear for me. I hope to continue to be more like her and all the women who put themselves out there and made themselves known in 2016.
7 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

